Thursday, April 13, 2017

Showcase The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz

I'm pleased to showcase the latest release of bestselling author Tiffany Reisz, The Night Mark.
"Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse, where a power greater than love works its magic."
Here is a link to a review by my friend and fellow blogger The Caffeinated Book Reviewer.
ISBN-13: 9780778328551
Publisher: Mira
Release Date: 03/28/2017
Length: 400
Buy It: Amazon/B&N/Kobo/IndieBound/Audible

From the bestselling author of The Bourbon Thief comes a sweeping tale of loss and courage, where one woman discovers that her destiny is written in sand, not carved in stone.
Faye Barlow is drowning. After the death of her beloved husband, Will, she cannot escape her grief and most days can barely get out of bed. But when she's offered a job photographing South Carolina's storied coast, she accepts. Photography, after all, is the only passion she has left.
In the quaint beach town, Faye falls in love again when she sees the crumbling yet beautiful Bride Island lighthouse and becomes obsessed with the legend surrounding The Lady of the Light—the keeper's daughter who died in a mysterious drowning in 1921. Like a moth to a flame, Faye is drawn to the lighthouse for reasons she can't explain. While visiting it one night, she is struck by a rogue wave and a force impossible to resist drags Faye into the past—and into a love story that is not her own.
Fate is changeable. Broken hearts can mend. But can she love two men separated by a lifetime?

Read an excerpt courtesy Mira Publishing:

Faye closed her eyes and thought of Casablanca.
Easy to do since she’d been watching it earlier that day. She’d also watched it the week before and the month be­fore that. In the past four years, she’d watched it at least ten times, definitely more, but ten was all she would admit to if asked. And her husband had asked when he’d come home from work and found her watching it.
“Again?” Hagen had asked.
“It’s a classic” was all Faye had said.
Now, hours later, as Hagen kissed the back of her neck, her thoughts returned to Casablanca. It was nine o’clock on Friday night, the one hour of the week they usually made the effort to show up for their marriage. But she hadn’t felt well all day—tired, aching—and all she wanted to do was close her eyes and go to sleep. Since she couldn’t sleep, she dreamed of Rick and Ilsa and Morocco while Hagen did his best to pretend theirs was a real marriage.
Faye was far more concerned about Bogie’s Rick than Hagen. Had Rick ever found someone else to love or had he made a monk of himself, living in celibate devotion to his beloved Ilsa for the rest of his life? Or maybe he’d died shortly after Ilsa got on that plane, killed by fascists or Nazis on his way to Brazzaville with Louis. Faye hoped he had died. Better that than live for decades still in love with a woman he could never have again.
Whoever first said it was better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all had neither loved nor ever lost.
But Faye had. She’d loved and she’d lost and as she lay in the bed of a man who didn’t love her any more than she loved him, she would have sold her soul to not have done either.
“Faye?” Hagen said in her ear. He’d been nice to her today, so she opened her eyes.
“Your phone’s beeping.”
She reached for the phone on the bedside table and saw she had a text message.
Check your email asap
It was from Richard, her friend who owned the only de­cent camera store in Columbia, South Carolina. There was no good reason he would be emailing or texting her on a Friday night that she could think of and many bad reasons.
“Emergency text. I’ll be right back,” she told Hagen who immediately rolled onto his back and stared up at the ceil­ing, silently seething—as usual. Why did she even bother lying? He was always angry at her these days. She looked at him, looked at him longer than she meant to, longer than she had in a very long time. Wives of her husband’s cowork­ers called Hagen a “catch.” That he was handsome—brown hair, brown eyes, good body—was merely the smallest part of the equation. He was a good provider. That was what one of her neighbor ladies had called him, and here in the South, where men were still expected to be breadwinners, patriarchs and kings of the castle, that was the trump card. It didn’t matter that Hagen spent every free moment out­side work golfing with his buddies, that he rarely spoke to her except to criticize how she’d spent her days and that the sole reason he was trying to have sex with her was so they could pretend they were happy together when they both knew better.
Faye shut the bathroom door and read her email.
Hey, Faye—I just had to cancel some work. Got too busy with weddings. If you’re interested, I’ll give them your name. The ladies of the Lowcountry Preservation Society need a photographer for their annual “Journey through Time” fund-raising calendar: $10,000 for 100 exclusives. Landscapes, beach scenes, historical houses, ladies in dresses, the usual old-timey tourist shit. Due date August 1. Yes or no?
A job offer.
She hadn’t expected that. She hadn’t taken on a profes­sional photography assignment in almost four years. Last week she’d stopped by Richard’s camera shop to buy a re­placement lens cap for her Nikon. It had fallen off during a walk two weeks ago and rolled into a gutter. She’d men­tioned to Richard she missed going out on assignments. He’d told her to help him with his summer wedding load, and she’d simply smiled at him and said, “No, thanks. I don’t do weddings.”

But this job wasn’t a wedding.
Other works by Tiffany

Connect with Tiffany - Website - Facebook - Twitter

Meet Tiffany:
Tiffany Reisz is the author of the internationally bestselling and award-winning Original Sinners series for Mira Books (Harlequin/Mills & Boon). Tiffany's books inhabit a sexy shadowy world where romance, erotica and literature meet and do immoral and possibly illegal things to each other. She describes her genre as "literary friction," a term she stole from her main character, who gets in trouble almost as often as the author herself. She lives in Lexington, Kentucky with her husband, author Andrew Shaffer, and two cats. If she couldn't write, she would die.

Today's Gonereading item is:
Your very own Harry Potter coloring kit
Click HERE for the buy page


  1. Oh, this really has my name on it, I think, Debbie. Saw Kimberly's review and now read your excerpt.

    1. Yeah I have my copy on my pile, fingers crossed as to when I get to it LOL
      and I have Kim's review linked here too.

  2. Love lighthouse stories and am a huge fan of Diana Gabaldon. So onto my possible reading list.