Thursday, July 5, 2018

Review: Year One by Nora Roberts Audible edition

I'm an urban fantasy, paranormal romance, fantasy fanatic and also a Nora Roberts fan, when Year One came out last December I didn't have time to read it but when it was the daily deal on audible I scooped it up and I'm so glad I did.
Enjoy!



    Year One
    Chronicles of The One, Book 1

By: Nora Roberts
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 12 hrs and 20 mins
Unabridged Audiobook
Release date: 12-05-17
Language: English
Publisher: Brilliance Audio

ADD TO: GOODREADS

Overview:

A stunning new novel from the number-one New York Times best-selling author - an epic of hope and horror, chaos and magic, and a journey that will unite a desperate group of people to fight the battle of their lives...

It began on New Year's Eve.

The sickness came on suddenly, and spread quickly. The fear spread even faster. Within weeks, everything people counted on began to fail them. The electrical grid sputtered; law and government collapsed - and more than half of the world's population was decimated.

Where there had been order, there was now chaos. And as the power of science and technology receded, magic rose up in its place. Some of it is good, like the witchcraft worked by Lana Bingham, practicing in the loft apartment she shares with her lover, Max. Some of it is unimaginably evil, and it can lurk anywhere, around a corner, in fetid tunnels beneath the river - or in the ones you know and love the most.

As word spreads that neither the immune nor the gifted are safe from the authorities who patrol the ravaged streets, and with nothing left to count on but each other, Lana and Max make their way out of a wrecked New York City. At the same time, other travelers are heading west too, into a new frontier. Chuck, a tech genius trying to hack his way through a world gone offline. Arlys, a journalist who has lost her audience but uses pen and paper to record the truth. Fred, her young colleague, possessed of burgeoning abilities and an optimism that seems out of place in this bleak landscape. And Rachel and Jonah, a resourceful doctor and a paramedic who fend off despair with their determination to keep a young mother and three infants in their care alive.

In a world of survivors where every stranger encountered could be either a savage or a savior, none of them knows exactly where they are heading, or why. But a purpose awaits them that will shape their lives and the lives of all those who remain.

The end has come. The beginning comes next.


My Review:

Year One
Nora Roberts
The Chronicles of The One #1

Book 5
Roberts’ Year One is beautiful, brutal and brilliant, everything a fan of apocalyptic fiction would want as she weaves readers through the before and the year after the world falls apart. Warning: there is abuse and violence and although not too graphic is still not for every reader.
The following of several storylines lets her audience in on all the good and the evil left and gives them a good feeling of what life is now like by seeing it through the eyes and actions of her incredible, unforgettable characters. The action is non-stop, the plot is amazingly imaginative and the dialogue simply fits and every scene paints a realistic picture. The main characters are all incredible and the sideline of love stories lightens the dark but it’s Arlys’ determination, Fred’s humility and Lana’s perseverance that really stand out in book one. This is Roberts at her finest and book two can’t come fast enough. Fans of Stephen King’s The Stand and Justin Cronin’s The Passage will find this hard to put down.


Narration 5
The narration by Julia Whelan is excellent. She nails all the voices, male, female, witch and fairy expertly and expressively giving listeners that something extra emotionally that they just can’t get by reading alone, and will have them flinching with her every gasp and shedding tears along with the characters. This is my second book narrated by Julia and she rocked my world both times.


SUMMARY:
While in Scotland an unsuspecting hunter releases a virus that begins a global apocalyptic chain reaction. But this is no ordinary virus, it’s onset and devastation has been foretold, and precedes an epic battle of good versus evil, of light versus dark. In Year One there will be conceived a prophesied savior who will be the key to good overcoming evil but the dark forces know of her coming and they will do all in their power to corrupt those weak of mind and spirit to stop her from being born.
Lana and Max are white witches, a couple in love and survivors who know they must leave New York City. They’re hoping to find Max’s brother and maybe other survivors along the way.
Arlys always wanted to be an anchor reporter she just didn’t know that one-third of the earth’s population would have to perish to make that happen and now that she’s reported that and gone against official government numbers she also knows it’s time to head out. So she and Fred, a fairy, something that before would have been unbelievable head out to meet up with a “source” that will help them escape the city.
Paramedic Jonah was about to end it, he didn’t think he could face any more devastation that was until very pregnant with twins Katie showed up and needed his help. She and pretty ER doc Rachel gave him a reason to live. Now they just have to decide where to go to do that.

 Connect with Nora- Website- Facebook - Twitter
Meet Nora:
Nora Roberts is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 200 novels, including Come Sundown, The Obsession, The Liar, and coming in December 2017, Year One -- the first book in The Chronicles of The One. She is also the author of the futuristic suspense In Death series written under the pen name J.D. Robb. There are more than 500 million copies of her books in print.



Meet Julia:
Julia Whelan, a former child actress best known for her award-winning work on ABC's Once and Again, began narrating and directing audiobooks after graduating from college with a degree in English and creative writing. She has garnered many positive reviews, won multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards, and was named one of AudioFile magazine's Best Voices of 2010. Two of Julia's audiobooks were shortlisted for the American Library Association's notable recordings of 2010. Her "flawless" narration of Jandy Nelson's The Sky Is Everywhereearned a place in the first round of 2011 Grammy nominations for Best Spoken Word Album. In addition to her work in young adult fiction, her audiobook credits include memoir (Jenny McCarthy's Love, Lust, and Faking It), women's fiction, supernatural thrillers, and nonfiction



***Paid Ad***

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: this blog uses affiliate ad- links if you choose to click a link and make a purchase using a link the blog gets a small commission that goes toward blog expenses and costs you nothing

If you enter a giveaway on this blog Rafflecopter captures only your email information which is only used to contact you in the event you are the winner and is never stored or used for any other purpose.