Wednesday, October 2, 2019

Robyn Carr Named 2019 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Inductee

That's right fellow fans Robyn Carr is going into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame, oh but that's not all. 
Read on!
The University Libraries at the University of Nevada, Reno is pleased to announce the 32nd Annual Nevada Writers Hall of Fame honorees: #1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr is the 2019 Nevada Writers Hall of Fame inductee, and Caleb S. Cage will receive the Silver Pen award.

In celebration of this year’s honorees, the University Libraries invites literary enthusiasts to join us for An Evening with Robyn Carr and Caleb S. Cage on Thursday, November 7 at 6:30 p.m. at the Reno Renaissance Hotel, Downtown Reno located at One South Lake Street. Tickets are on sale now and space is limited.

“The Nevada Writers Hall of Fame is a time to celebrate the works of Nevada authors,” Dean of University Libraries and Teaching & Learning Technologies, Kathlin Ray said. “Robyn’s historical and contemporary romance novels, as well as her suspense novel, non-fiction work, short stories, articles and even screenplays demonstrate she is well worth celebrating! We look forward to honoring the many contributions Robyn has made to further strengthen Nevada’s rich and vibrant literary landscape.”

Adding to the excitement of this year’s event, Netflix has announced it is currently producing a 10-episode series based on Robyn’s Virgin River series. It is set to premiere in late 2019 or early 2020.

“I'm completely honored and humbled by this prestigious award," 32nd annual Nevada Writers Hall of Fame inductee Robyn Carr said. "It is an honor and a thrill to be inducted into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame. Regardless of their setting, all my stories start in Nevada, the state where I've made my home for so many years and the place that continues to inspire me as a writer and storyteller every day. To be recognized and celebrated as a Nevada writer truly means the world to me."

About the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame

The Nevada Writers Hall of Fame was established by former Friends of the University Libraries President Marilyn Melton in 1988 to recognize the great writers who write in and about Nevada – and those who are continuing to contribute to Nevada’s literary landscape.

Induction into The Nevada Writers Hall of Fame acknowledges a lifetime achievement in writing.

Selection criteria for induction into the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame includes: a strong Nevada connection through theme or residence, achieving critical recognition for publication, and an author’s overall contribution to building the literary culture of Nevada.

“I envisioned the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame to have two purposes,” Melton said. “First, I wanted to create an annual event honoring Nevada’s finest writers. Second, I wanted to establish the Hall of Fame to serve as a stimulus to encourage excellence among emerging writers in the Silver State. I will be delighted to present Robyn with her Hall of Fame medal. I also look forward to honoring Caleb by presenting him with the Silver Pen award. They are both very worthy of these accolades!”

About Robyn Carr – 32nd Annual Nevada Writers Hall of Fame Inductee

Robyn is a RITA Award-winning author of more than 45 novels for Harlequin, including the critically acclaimed Virgin River series now launching as a Netflix series in Fall 2019. She has received the RWA’s prestigious Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016 and she published her first romance novel with Harlequin in 1989—Informed Risk for Harlequin Special Edition—and we have been proud to be her publisher for 30 years and counting.

Robyn Carr was an Air Force wife and a young mother of two when she started writing fiction in the mid-1970s. Since then, she has become one of the world’s most popular authors of romance and women’s fiction, with 11 of her novels reaching the #1 spot on the New York Times bestseller list.

Robyn’s novels have spent nearly 250 weeks on that prestigious list and have sold over 27 million copies worldwide, with her beloved, 20-book Virgin River series alone netting more than 13 million copies. In recognition of her the significant contributions to the genre, the Romance Writers of America awarded Robyn the 2016 Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award.

In addition to her wildly popular contemporary romance series—which include Virgin River, Thunder Point, and Sullivan’s Crossing—Robyn also writes stand-alone women’s fiction, including titles like The Life She Wants, The Summer That Made Us, and The View from Alameda Island. Her recent novels have landed on the New York Times, USA Today, Publishers Weekly, and Wall Street Journal bestseller lists.

Robyn is now living her dream of writing one stand-alone women’s fiction novel and one contemporary romance per year. She makes her home in Las Vegas, Nevada, and loves spending time with her two grown children and grandchildren.

Congratulations Robyn!!!


  1. I am a huge R Carr fan. When I was just beginning my internet book buying years ago, I was looking for something to read that I'd enjoy. Readers on the Susan Elizabeth Phillips board talked about R Carr. And let's say that was the beginning - I ordered Virgin River and loved it. From there on in I read every book in the series and everything else she wrote as well! So looking forward to the Netflix series. Big congratulations to Robyn Carr.

  2. She soooo deserves it. I credit her with convincing me to try Contemporary Romance and like it with her Virgin River series.

    I need to see Caleb's stuff, but congrats to him, too. :)

    1. Thanks Sophia Rose she is the reason I love small town and long running series