Monday, January 13, 2020

Showcase: Relentless by Shawn Wilson Oceanview Publishing

I'm happy to be again working with Oceanview Publishing a fine indie out of the great state of Florida. Check out Shawn Wilson's debut thriller. Perfect for fans of Connelly's Harry Bosch!
Enjoy!


ISBN-13:
 9781608093700
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing

Release Date: 12-17-2019

Length:
 368pp
Brick Kavanagh Mystery Series #1

ADD TO: GOODREADS


Overview:
Cherry blossom season is Washington, D.C.’s most beautiful time of the year. But as tourists flock to the city, this year’s festivities are marred by the discovery of the naked body of a young woman floating in the Tidal Basin. Veteran homicide detective Brian (Brick) Kavanagh is assigned to the case. He’s shocked when he learns the victim is connected to another homicide which makes the investigation very personal for him. Brick’s efforts to solve the case are thwarted by departmental politics and a rush to judgment. Convinced that justice has not been served and the wrong person is in jail, Kavanagh risks all to relentlessly pursue the truth. Overlooked evidence ultimately leads to a devastating conclusion in a heartbreaking case.

A Q&A Provided by the author:


When did you first know you wanted to be a writer?

I’m not sure I knew it at the time, but in the days before email and Facebook connected us to the world, I corresponded with foreign pen pals. And since I grew up in a small town in upstate New York where the local library was my main source of entertainment, I had to use creative writing skills to make life seem more interesting than it really was. I loved writing letters and even liked writing term papers. I enjoyed doing the research as well as the actual writing.

What writers have inspired you?

Ed McBain, Michael Connelly, Robert Crais, J.A. Jance. And Sue Grafton, not only for her Kinsey Millhone series, but her generosity in sharing her knowledge and encouragement to aspiring writers. In addition to mysteries, I enjoy reading memoirs and I’m often inspired by the stories the authors share. Like millions of readers, I loved Angela’s Ashes. When ‘Tis followed, I immediately bought a copy, and to my amazement I ran into Frank McCourt on a street in Georgetown when he was in Washington for a book signing. We had a very nice chat and he, of course, signed my copy of his book.

What is the writing process like for you?

I approach writing in much the same way I approach life—I’m a planner. But I also recognize the importance of being flexible, because as the saying goes, “life happens.” I spend a lot of time outlining before I actually start writing. Also, I sometimes use a Q&A interview of characters to get a sense of their voice and personalities and motivations. My favorite part of the writing process is rewriting and the satisfaction that results from making something better.

What inspired you to write RELENTLESS?

I enjoy traveling and have visited five continents. Being in a place where I didn’t speak the language and was unfamiliar with the culture was sometimes intimidating as a tourist, so I can only imagine what it’s like for an immigrant who comes to the United States hoping for a better life. I was fortunate to get to know several men and women in the Washington, D.C. area who faced that challenge. I was impressed with their work ethic and adaptability and, in some cases, envious of their multilingual skills. As far as I know, none were victims of a serious crime.

What part of writing your book did you find most challenging?

It’s always challenging for me to put the movie in my head into words on a page, especially scenes that are not very dramatic. A lot of police work and court proceedings are tedious, so it’s challenging to keep it realistic without boring the reader.

Are any characters based on real people?

Some are composites of people I know or have known, while others are figments of my imagination.

Anything autobiographical in your novel?

Even though I may not have realized it when I was there, I guess the time I’ve spent in Irish pubs was actually research.

What’s next for you?

I think Brick has series potential and I have some ideas I’m exploring for the next book. He is, after all, a baseball fan, and every baseball fan should visit Wrigley Field at least once in their life.

Any advice for aspiring writers?

Write the book you want to read to the very best of your ability and pursue your dream. It may take longer than you would like but it is possible to make it a reality. I’m proof!

Editorial Reviews:
10/28/2019

Set during cherry blossom time in Washington, D.C., Wilson’s solid debut introduces Det. Brian “Brick” Kavanagh and his partner, Ron Hayes. The two are called out in the early hours of the morning to the Tidal Basin, where they find a young woman’s naked body floating in the water. Brick knows that this murder, at the height of the D.C. tourist season, has the potential to make the powers-that-be nervous and add stress to his job. At the end of his shift, Brick stops at his favorite Irish bar, where the bartender asks him to check up on Jose Delgado, a trusted busboy who has missed several days of work. At Jose’s apartment, Brick finds the busboy murdered, as well as a possible link between Jose and the Tidal Basin victim. Mystery veterans won’t find much they haven’t seen before, though the villain’s unusual background is a plus. Wilson (the pen name for a playwright) has created a protagonist with the full complement of angst-inducing problems and an appealing white knight sense of decency. (Dec.)

Publishers Weekly


“In Relentless, fans of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch will find a new hero in Brian Kavanagh, a detective with more brains than brawn who personifies the term 'relentless.' Throw in cherry blossom season in Washington, D.C. and you have the perfect mystery read.” — Patricia Gussin, New York Times best-selling author

“Wilson's Relentless lives up to its title, and will keep you turning pages throughout the twisting mystery and final reveal. A gritty and engrossing tale that introduces Brick Kavanagh, a detective who’s as smart as he is battle worn, and who takes his place among the best detectives in fiction.” — Jamie Freveletti, best-selling author

“Shawn Wilson takes readers on a roller coaster ride with twists and turns and a completely unexpected final destination in Relentless.” — Matt Coyle

“Shawn Wilson’s novel, [Relentless] brings a crafty, engaging new detective to the mean streets of Washington, D.C. A relentlessly entertaining debut!” — Daniel Stashower, Edgar-winning author

"The action is top-notch ... Wilson does a good job whipping up some mysterious murders." —Booklist

“[In Relentless,] Wilson has created a protagonist with the full complement of angst-inducing problems and an appealing white knight sense of decency.” —Publishers Weekly


“Shawn Wilson's Relentless can stand on its plot alone. But it needn't do that. The characters could be working out of your very own neighborhood station. The background of this stellar novel smells of cherry blossoms in a slight spring breeze. It's well worth a read.” —BookLoonsFrom the Publisher

2019-09-30
A veteran Washington cop catches an unsavory and complex case that cuts too close to home.

Detective Brian Kavanagh, known as "Brick" because of his red hair, is called to the Tidal Basin with partner Ron Hayes to snag a floating corpse. Rather than wait for the police dive team, they hop a locked fence to retrieve the body. Later, at Boland's Mill, Brick's watering hole of choice, he confronts another problem. Crusty proprietor Eamonn Boland's not at his usual post, regaling patrons; when he finally arrives, the elderly Eamonn looks decidedly unhealthy. He's beside himself about the absence of Jose, a normally reliable busboy. Brick and Rory, Eamonn's nephew, go to Jose's apartment, where they discover his corpse, clearly a victim of murder. Brick manages to coax Jose's ginger cat, Elvis, out from under the sink, but there's no sign of the sister Jose lives with. Saddest news of all: She's the girl in the Tidal Basin. Her name is Maria Delgado, and she's from Guatemala. Brick and Ron's investigation begins with interviews of Jose and Maria's neighbors, a stereotypical array of Hispanic sex offenders, wife beaters, and gang members. The brokenhearted Eamonn, meanwhile, decides to accompany the two young victims back to Guatemala. When Brick finds evidence that Maria may be the victim of a serial killer, he gets little support at his precinct. Must he strike out on his own to find the perp?

Like her D.C. Dirty Harry, Wilson's debut novel is bluntly effective. It lacks finesse but offers pace and timeliness.Kirkus Reviews


About the author:
RELENTLESS is Shawn Wilson’s debut novel.
Shawn was born and raised in New York’s Hudson Valley, where she was a classmate of Mickey Spillane’s daughter. After graduating from high school, she attended Averett College in Danville, Virginia before moving to the Washington, D.C. area. She earned a Bachelor of Science Degree in Administration of Justice from American University and spent more than 30 years working for the U.S. Marshals Service, the U.S. Attorney’s Office, the Federal Bureau of Prisons and the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts. Those years confirmed her belief that on most days, there was more drama at the courthouse than at the Kennedy Center.
Having traveled on five continents, Shawn is very happy to call Chicago home.
Shawn's Website-https://shawnwilsonauthor.com/


16 comments:

  1. Nothing like a great mystery to keep you on your toes! Great interview Debbie!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds intense. Enjoyed the interview. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I do enjoy a good murder mystery and this sounds like it could be a good one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. With a library and a good imagination, sounds like she kept her early life from getting boring. :) Fun to read the interview and this does sound like a good one.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks you sharing the interview. This one sounds like it would be one I'd enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Fantastic interview! Thanks Debbie!

    ReplyDelete