Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Showcase Death of a Messenger by Robert McCaw Oceanview Publishing

Today I'm showcasing Death of a Messenger by Robert McCaw a new release by Oceanview Publishing and debut in a new series set in the Island paradise of Hawaii. I'm told it's perfect for fans of Michael Connelly.
Enjoy!

ISBN-13: 978-1608094035
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Release Date: 1-5-2021
Length: 352pp
Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery #1
Buy It: Amazon/B&N/IndieBound

ADD TO: GOODREADS

Overview:



On Hawaiʻi Island, an anonymous 911 caller reports a body at Pōhakuloa, the Army’s live-fire training area. Hilo Chief Detective Koa Kāne, a cop with his own secret criminal past, finds a mutilated corpse—bearing all the hallmarks of ancient ritual sacrifice.

Koa encounters a host of obstacles as he pursues the murderer—an incompetent local medical examiner, hostility from both haoles (Westerners) and sovereignty advocates, and a myriad of lies. Nothing is what is seems, and Koa must rely on instinct and guile to zero in on the truth.

From untouched royal burial vaults to the world’s largest astronomical telescopes high atop the Mauna Kea volcano, the bizarre case draws Koa deep into his own Hawaiian roots. As Koa probes the victim’s past, he confronts a rich roster of suspects—grave robbers, native activists, thieves, and stargazers.

Koa races to discover whether the victim stumbled upon a gang of high-tech archaeological thieves, or learned a secret so shocking it cost him his life and put others in mortal danger. Will Hilo’s most respected detective stop this sadistic fiend—or will the Pōhakuloa killer strike again—with even deadlier consequences?

Reviews:

Praise for the Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series

“[Off the Grid] sizzles with tension and twists that entertain and magnetize. Danger and drama abide, with a wonderful, devil-may-care hero. Robert McCaw has the touch.” —Steve Berry, New York Times best-selling author


“In Off the Grid, Robert McCaw has fashioned the year's most original mystery-thriller set, appropriately enough, in the equally original setting of Hawaii . . . a relentlessly riveting tale that races out of the gate and never lets up for a single minute or page.” —Jon Land, USA Today best-selling author


“Moves with volcanic force to a heartfelt, gripping conclusion.” —Rick Mofina, USA Today best-selling author


“. . . interesting local details and a crackling pace.” —Kirkus Reviews


“Fire and Vengeance is a meticulous mystery. In [this] winding thriller, a conflicted cop wrangles a conspiracy and a family emergency.” —Foreword Reviews


“Readers who crave watching a smart cop work in a crackerjack police procedural will find a beauty here. Want a good espionage adventure? It's here, too, with intrigue, betrayal, assassination.” —Booklist (Starred Review)


“Off the Grid is flush with action and vivid descriptions. This unputdownable book is sure to make a mark in the literary world.” —New York Journal of Books


“Readers who love a complex hard-boiled detective with flaws and secrets, and depictions of Hawaii’s culture and beauty, will be drawn to Koa Kane and the mosaic richness of an American paradise.” —BookTrib






About the author:
Robert McCaw grew up in a military family, traveling the world. He is a graduate of Georgetown University, served as a U.S. Army lieutenant, and earned a law degree from the University of Virginia. He was a partner in a major international law firm in Washington, D.C. and New York City, representing major Wall Street clients in complex civil and criminal cases. Having lived on the Big Island of Hawaii, McCaw imbues his writing of the Islands with his more than 20-year love affair with this Pacific paradise. Death of a Messenger, a prequel, follows Fire and Vengeance and Off the Grid in McCaw’s Koa Kane Hawaiian Mystery Series. He now lives in New York City with his wife, Calli.









4 comments:

  1. Wowsers, I love that this is rich in Hawaiian culture as well as a good mystery. Koa sounds like a great main character, too.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love a good mystery and thrilling read. And this book looks like it!

    ReplyDelete