Friday, February 5, 2016

Interview with Darynda Jones - The Dirt on Ninth Grave

I'm so excited to welcome Darynda Jones to the blog to chat about her latest Charley Davidson tale, The Dirt on Ninth Grave.

Enjoy!





















ISBN-13: 9781250074485
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Release Date: 01/12/2016
Length: 336pp
Buy It: B&N/Amazon/Kobo/IndieBound/Audible



Overview

I see dead people. No wait. I take that back. I see people I want dead.
—eCard
Charley Davidson is living in New York City as Jane Doe, a girl with no memory of who she is or where she came from. So when she begins to realize she can see dead people, she’s more than a bit taken aback. Strangers who enter the diner where she works seem to know things about her…Then she is confronted by a man who claims to have been sent to kill her. Sent by the darkest force in the universe. An enemy that will not stop until she is dead. Thankfully, she has a Rottweiler. And the diner’s devastatingly handsome fry cook, who vows to protect her even though he seems to be lying with every breath he takes. But in the face of such grave danger, who can Jane/Charley/whoever she is trust? She will find the truth even if it kills her…or the fry cook. Either way…

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Interview with Martine Bailey - A Taste for Nightshade

Please welcome back to the blog Martine Bailey. She was here last year to talk about her debut novel, An Appetite for Violets and she's back now to chat about her new release A Taste for Nightshade. See what Martine has been up to in the past year.





















ISBN-13: 9781250056924
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Release Date: 01-12-2016
Length: 464



Overview

Manchester 1787. When budding young criminal Mary Jebb swindles Michael Croxon's brother with a blank pound note, he chases her into the night and sets in motion a train of sinister events. Condemned to seven years of transportation to Australia, Mary sends him a 'Penny Heart'-a token of her vow of revenge.
Two years later, Michael marries naïve young Grace Moore. Although initially overjoyed at the union, Grace quickly realizes that her husband is more interested in her fortune than her company. Lonely and desperate for companionship, she turns to her new cook to help mend her ailing marriage. But Mary Jebb, shipwrecked, maltreated, and recently hired, has different plans for the unsuspecting owners of Delafosse Hall.
A Taste for Nightshade is a thrilling historical novel that combines recipes, mystery and a dark struggle between two desperate women, sure to appeal to fans of Sarah Waters and Carolly Erickson.

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

Showcase Review - The Ballad of Rosamunde by Claire Delacroix

The Ballad of Rosamunde was a story that was a long time coming for me. When I first read Claire's The Snow White Bride in 2005 I was devastated with the deaths of Tynan and Rosamunde ill-fated lovers and hoped she'd give her readers closure. Finally in 2010 she published the short story The Ballad of Rosamunde in The Mammoth Book of Irish Romance Anthology and I finally breathed a sigh of relief. There are several ways to read Rosamunde's tale and they're listed below. I hope you enjoy my showcase and review of the audible edition of The Ballad of Rosamunde!


ASIN: B00Z7EG1Q6
Publisher: Deborah A Cooke
Release Date: 06/08/2015
Length: 1 hour and 35 minutes

Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Buy It: Amazon/Audible


Also available in the Jewels of Kinfairlie Boxed Set- And is included in the 2014 release of The Snow White Bride and in Claire's short story collection Beguiled







Overview:
A pirate queen trapped in the realm of Faerie, Rosamunde can be freed only by true love. The man she loved is lost to her forever, so she believes herself doomed. Padraig, long in love with Rosamunde, believes his life worthless since she disappeared. When he hears of her capture by the fey, he is determined to set her free, but can Rosamunde put the past behind her and learn to love anew?
This short story was previously published in the anthology The Mammoth Book of Irish Romance but appeared edited due to space constraints. This version contains the whole story. Rosamunde is a secondary character who appeared in The Jewels of Kinfairlie trilogy.


Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Interview with Anne Girard - Platinum Doll

Please welcome new to me author Anne Girard to the blog. She's here today to chat about her new release about the Hollywood blond bomb shell, Jean Harlow, Platinum Doll.


























ISBN-13: 9780778318668
Publisher: Mira
Release Date: 01/26/2016
Length: 368pp
Buy It: B&N/Amazon/Kobo/IndieBound/Audible



Overview

Set against the dazzling backdrop of Golden Age Hollywood, novelist Anne Girard tells the enchanting story of Jean Harlow, one of the most iconic stars in the history of film
It's the Roaring Twenties and seventeen-year-old Harlean Carpenter McGrew has run off to Beverly Hills. She's chasing a dream—to escape her small, Midwestern life and see her name in lights.
In California, Harlean has everything a girl could want—a rich husband, glamorous parties, socialite friends—except an outlet for her talent. But everything changes when a dare pushes her to embrace her true ambition—to be an actress on the silver screen. With her timeless beauty and striking shade of platinum-blond hair, Harlean becomes Jean Harlow. And as she's thrust into the limelight, Jean learns that this new world of opportunity comes with its own set of burdens. Torn between her family and her passion to perform, Jean is forced to confront the difficult truth—that fame comes at a price, if only she's willing to pay it.

Friday, January 29, 2016

**GIVEAWAY** Review/Showcase #BabyLove My Social Life by Corine Dehghanpisheh

Today I'm so pleased to present a showcase and my review of #BabyLove My Social Life by Corine Dehghanpisheh





ISBN-13: 9780985193034
Publisher: Book Baby
Release Date: 7/9/2015
Length: 36 pp
Buy It: B&N/Amazon










#BabyLove: My Social Life is a children’s picture book written and illustrated by Corine Dehghanpisheh. It is recommended for modern day moms.


Synopsis: "Click." "Tap." Tag and Post. An adored baby tells a modern tale about life in today's digital world. #BabyLove: My Social Life highlights the social phenomena of sharing daily activities using technology and social networks.

Corine's Publicist is offering
one Kindle Edition of #BabyLove
As a giveaway US ONLY
Please use the Rafflecopter form to enter
Good Luck!

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Laura Griffin NEW SERIES AND COVER CELEBRATION!

Hi Friends you all know how much I love Laura's Tracers novels well now she's got a brand newAlpha Crew series coming out too. I can't wait to read this new series! And her first story is told in two parts!
Read all about it!


Here's a snippet from Laura's Facebook author page
"I'm excited to share some news! I am kicking off a new series this spring. (In addition to continuing the Tracers!) I've had so much fun writing special ops heroes in my Tracers books, so the new series is about an ultra-elite team of SEALs called Alpha Crew. The first in the two-part digital serial comes out March 7th. AT THE EDGE is part #1 and EDGE OF SURRENDER is part #2. These are steamy, action-packed stories and I've had so much fun writing them! What do you think of the covers?"

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Interview - Lindsay Starck - Noah's Wife - Showcase

Please welcome new to me author Lindsay Starck whose here to shed some light on her new just released, debut novel, Noah's Wife. In her interview Lindsay calls Noah's Wife "Book Club" fiction and I'm always on the lookout for super reads to feature in both my on-line and in-person book clubs, so I'm excited that my copy is high on the to be read pile and once you learn more about the novel I'm sure it will be top on your shelf too!
Enjoy!





















ISBN-13:  9780399159237

Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Release Date: 1/26/2016
Length: 400pp
Buy It: B&N/Amazon/Kobo/IndieBound/Audible



Overview

In the tradition of Daniel Wallace's Big Fish and Eowyn Ivey's The Snow Child, a gorgeously written, brilliantly introspective, fable-like novel reimagining Noah’s Ark for our modern times
 
"Noah's Wife may be a contemporary allegory, but Lindsay Starck is a classic storyteller. . . . Her novel is an engrossing fusion of wisdom and beautiful writing." — Mary McGarry Morris, internationally bestselling author
 
When young minister Noah and his dutiful wife arrive at their new post in the hills, they find a gray and wet little town where it's been raining for as long as anyone can remember. Noah's wife is determined to help her husband revive this soggy congregation, but soon finds her efforts thwarted by her eccentric new neighbors, among them an idiom-wielding Italian hardware store owner, a towering town matriarch, and a lovelorn zookeeper determined to stand by his charges. Overwhelmed, Noah's wife fails to realize that Noah, too, is battling his own internal crisis.