Wednesday, August 18, 2021

Showcase Bad Scene by Max Tomlinson Oceanview Publishing

Today I'm showcasing, Bad Scene by Max Tomlinson, a new release from one of my very favorite small mystery indie houses, Oceanview Publishing.
Enjoy!

ISBN-13: 978-1608093458
Publisher: Oceanview Publishing
Release Date: 08-03-2021
Length: 336pp 
Colleen Hayes #3
Buy It: Amazon/ B&N/ IndieBound

ADD TO: GOODREADS

Overview:

Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben’s gritty noir suspense

When PI and ex-con, Colleen Hayes, learns that a local neo-Nazi group are talking about shooting the mayor, she thinks it’s just another rumor—until her source, a humble street newspaper vendor, winds up in SF General, beaten to a pulp.

To add to her grief, she discovers that her runaway daughter, Pamela, might have joined a shadowy religious group, building a church in South America near a volcano that is about to erupt. Death is the path to perfection according to the charismatic young preacher—and the date is fast approaching.

Colleen is desperate to find a way to stop her daughter from making the ultimate mistake before she—along with hundreds of others—lose their lives.





Reviews:



* “[In Tie Die, Tomlinson] deepens the character of his multi-layered lead, Colleen Hayes, an unlicensed PI and ex-con who’s still on parole. Readers will want to learn more about this surprising and pragmatic woman.” —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)


“Max Tomlinson serves up the perfect mystery in this edgy new detective series set in ’70s San Francisco. Colleen Hayes, an ex-con in search of her missing teenage daughter, finally lands her first big case. There’s just one problem: she must find a killer who’s been lurking since the Summer of Love. Not to be missed." —James N. Frey, author of How to Write a Damn Good Thriller


“Max Tomlinson delivers a gritty, gripping story set in a fascinating time. Colleen Hayes is a deeply sympathetic sleuth, all too human. I can’t wait for her next adventure.” —Evan Marshall, author of City in Shadow


“I’ve just three words to say about [Vanishing in the Haight] by Max Tomlinson—Wow. Just. Wow. Tomlinson’s taut, spare, evocative writing style is an absolute beauty. You couldn’t ask for a better guide through the dark, shadowy flashback haze of ‘70s San Francisco." —Tracy Clark, author of Broken Places


About the author:
Born in San Francisco, with its rich literary history and a public transport system teeming with characters suitable for crime novels, the stage was set for Max Tomlinson to become a mystery writer. In addition, his time abroad has inspired a variety of flavors in his writing. His published work includes a crime series set in South America, an international espionage series, and now the USA Today best-selling Colleen Hayes Mystery Series, set in 1970s San Francisco. Bad Scene is the third novel in the series, following Tie Die and Vanishing in the Haight.

4 comments: