Wednesday, January 19, 2022

#MacmillanAudio Review of The Becoming by Nora Roberts Book 2 of the Dragon Heart Legacy

Today I'm so excited to be bringing you my review of Nora Roberts 2nd in her Dragon Heart Legacy, The Becoming.

Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Release Date: 11-23-2021
Length: 15 hours & 36 minutes
Dragon Heart Legacy #2
Source: Publisher/Netgalley for Review
Buy It: Audible

ADD TO: Goodreads


A new epic of love and war among gods and humans, from Nora Roberts—the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Awakening.

The world of magick and the world of man have long been estranged from one another. But some can walk between the two—including Breen Siobhan Kelly. She has just returned to Talamh, with her friend, Marco, who’s dazzled and disoriented by this realm—a place filled with dragons and faeries and mermaids (but no WiFi, to his chagrin). In Talamh, Breen is not the ordinary young schoolteacher he knew her as. Here she is learning to embrace the powers of her true identity. Marco is welcomed kindly by her people—and by Keegan, leader of the Fey. Keegan has trained Breen as a warrior, and his yearning for her has grown along with his admiration of her strength and skills.

But one member of Breen’s bloodline is not there to embrace her. Her grandfather, the outcast god Odran, plots to destroy Talamh—and now all must unite to defeat his dark forces. There will be losses and sorrows, betrayal and bloodshed. But through it, Breen Siobhan Kelly will take the next step on the journey to becoming all that she was born to be.

My Macmillan Audio Review:

The Becoming
The Dragon Hear Legacy #2
Nora Roberts


Roberts has upped her game with this fantastic book 2 of her trilogy with non-stop action, both light and dark magic wielders a set of villains, especially Breen’s cold demonic granddad, that will give any reader goosebumps and a group of do-gooders that will make the audience believe just maybe all will end well. She doesn’t pull punches when war wages both sides lose numbers and the fighting scenes are powerful and explosive, plus hello there are dragons and dragon riders how cool is that. Then she gives readers just enough calm, happy times between the battles to be able to take a deep breath before the next clash of Titans. Nora’s depiction of the realm of Talamh and the dark side is total fantasy yet she’s able to breathe a bit of believability in it to make it feel real to her audience. The stars of the show, Breen, Keegan, Marco and a few select others are totally unforgettable and they all rock their roles in the storyline. But when it comes to superstardom it’s Breen all the way, she’s compassionate, she’s feisty, she’s brave, she’s a Heroine with a capitol H and she’s come so far from book 1 learning about herself, her past and coming into her power. All in all this is an extraordinary book two in Nora’s amazing Dragon Heart Legacy trilogy. Brava!

The narration by Barrie Kreinik continues to be sensational. She plays a perfect Breen but then deepens her voice and does an equally fab Keegan or Marco and her depiction of children are right-on. Plus she’s got it perfect on the inflections, the accents and the emotions of which there’s a barnfull.

The Becoming follows closely on the tails of book 1 The Awakening and finds Breen Siobhan Kelly fulfilling her promise to Keegan, her Gran and all of Talamh to return from the human realm, what she didn’t count on was her bestie Marco traversing realms on her coat strings. Breen has not only kept her promise to return but to Keegan’s pleasant surprise she’s kept up her training in magiks and fighting as well. She’ll need everything she can muster because the Dark God, her grandfather Odran is getting closer to being able to breech the locks that Talamh has set up to keep him in his own realm and she’s got to be ready to fight when he finally does. And even though there is danger at every turn and Odran is constantly recruiting new numbers to the dark side, Breen is bound and determined whatever the cost to keep all those she loves safe from this monster and his minions.

Book 1

About the author:
Nora Roberts is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 200 novels, including Hideaway, Under Currents, Come Sundown, The Awakening, Legacy, and coming in November 2021 -- The Becoming -- the second book in The Dragon Heart Legacy. She is also the author of the futuristic suspense In Death series written under the pen name J.D. Robb. There are more than 500 million copies of her books in print.

About the Narrator:
Barrie Kreinik is an actor, singer, writer, and audiobook narrator based in New York City. She recently received a spot on the  NY Times bestseller list for her narration of The Becoming by Nora Roberts.


  1. I think I'd love this one and it sounds like it has a good villain, too.

  2. Sounds like you had a great time with this one.

  3. I'm all for a heroine with a capital H! I have the first book on my shelf and when i've read it, no doubt I'll want to move to this one, and the best thing is... it's published!

    1. I hope you like #1 Kathryn, This is a very good series

  4. This is a series that I definitely want to read.