Friday, September 9, 2022

Review- The Lady's Guide to Death and Deception by Katherine Cowley blog tour


Today is my second stop on The Lady's Guide to Death and Deception blog tour. Today I'm sharing my audio reviewed a Dreamscape Media release.

ASIN: B0B62153D2
Publisher: Dreamscape Media LLC
Release Date: 9-06-2022
Length: 10 hours & 36 minutes
Source: Publisher/Author for review




What is a spy willing to do when both her heart and her country are at risk?

Life changes once again for British spy Miss Mary Bennet when Napoleon Bonaparte escapes from the Isle of Elba. Mary quickly departs England for Brussels, the city where the Allied forces prepare for war against the French. But shortly after her arrival, one of the Duke of Wellington's best officers is murdered, an event which threatens to break the delicate alliance between the Allies.

Investigating the murder forces Mary into precarious levels of espionage, role-playing, and deception with her new partner, Mr. Withrow-the nephew and heir of her prominent sponsor, and the spy with whom she's often at odds. Together, they court danger and discovery as they play dual roles gathering intelligence for the British. But soon Mary realizes that her growing feelings towards Mr. Withrow put her heart in as much danger as her life. And then there's another murder.

Mary will need to unmask the murderer before more people are killed, but can she do so and remain hidden in the background?

If you missed my interview with Katherine Click HERE to read it.

My Dreamscape Media review:

The Lady’s Guide to Death and Deception
The Secret Life of Mary Bennett #3
Katherine Cowley


Katherine Cowley’s third installation of her Mary Bennett series is an intriguing cat and mouse mystery that includes an interesting mix of historical facts and fiction featuring Napoleon’s escape from Elba through his defeat at Watterloo that will have readers/listeners guessing whodunit until the big reveal near the end. Ms. Cowley’s fictional characters and some really important real historical figures including The Duke of Wellington and the newly seated royals of The Netherlands are all excellently played, her plot is well thought out and the narrative is Regency all the way. Mary is a delightful refreshing character much different than Austen’s Mary and she shares the stage with some really unforgettable fellow spies. There is something for everyone in this dark cozy series installation including, mystery, murder, bloody battles, family drama and a little romance between our star Mary and Henry Withrow that the author continues to develop.

Allison Larkin’s narration is the perfect way to enjoy this novel, she makes an excellent Mary and does a bang up job of all the other characters including convincing male voices all in her eloquent King’s(Queen’s) English giving listeners a definite advantage over readers.

It’s 1815 and Mary Bennett has her hands quite full pretending to be a regular Regency single lady while in reality being a spy in service to His Majesty George 111. And she’s just learned she and her fellow spies are heading to Brussels part of the newly formed Kingdom of the Netherlands upon learning that Napoleon has escaped his exile on the Isle of Elba is heading to Belgium and hoping to put together an army against the English and reclaim his title as Emperor of France and Wellington needs their help apprehending him. Soon after arriving however the troop of spies is waylaid when an English Officer is murdered and they are charged with not only learning the whereabouts of Napoleon but now they’ve also got a murder to solve. Mary knows she and her company of secret agents under the direction of Lady Trafford are up for the job and she hopes she can continue working closely to Lady Trafford’s handsome nephew and heir Mr. Henry Withrow.


“Cowley manages to turn a little-liked, ignored, and stilted girl into one of my favorites of Austen's characters...This third novel of the series is her best. I laughed and I cried and cheered for Mary to succeed in her endeavors and hopefully find love at last.”— Carol Pratt Bradley, author of The Light of the Candle

“5 STARS. Just a delight!”— Wren, The Zebra Reader

“I really enjoyed this book. It is a great addition to the series. I loved that Mary is finding love in a logical way that fits her character…Highly recommend.”— Mariana, Goodreads

“I absolutely love Katherine Cowley's Mary Bennet series, and I think [The Lady’s Guide to Death and Deception] may be the best book in the series.”— Madison, Goodreads

About the author:
Katherine Cowley read Pride and Prejudice for the first time when she was ten years old, which started a lifelong obsession with Jane Austen. Her debut novel, The Secret Life of Miss Mary Bennet, was nominated for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. Her Mary Bennet spy series continues with the novels The True Confessions of a London Spy and The Lady’s Guide to Death and Deception. Katherine loves history, chocolate, traveling, and playing the piano, and she has taught writing classes at Western Michigan University. She lives in Kalamazoo, Michigan with her husband and three daughters.



  1. I can get this and the two previous at Audible so have put them into my wishlist and one day may try out the first one to see how I go.

  2. I read the first and loved it and I have the second book on my shelf. I need to get cracking. :)