Tuesday, May 26, 2020

#TheJaneAustenSociety blog tour Macmillan #AudioBooks review #RichardArmitage

I am so excited to be a part of this blog tour with not one but two stops so be sure you visit all the blogs who are reviewing this incredible book including my review today of the #Macmillan Audio edition and stop back by on June 17th when I'll be posting my interview with this fantastic author.
Enjoy!




Join the virtual online book tour of THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY, Natalie Jenner’s highly acclaimed debut novel May 25 through June 30, 2020. Seventy-five popular blogs and websites specializing in historical fiction, historical romance, women’s fiction, and Austenesque fiction will feature interviews and reviews of this post-WWII novel set in Chawton, England.

Title: The Jane Austen Society: A Novel
Author: Natalie Jenner
Genre: Historical Fiction, Austenesque Fiction
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press (May 26, 2020)
Length (320) pages
Hardcover ISBN: 978-1250248732
eBook ASIN: B07WQPPXFW
Audiobook ASIN: B082VL7VRR
Tour Dates: May 25 – June 30, 2020

PURCHASE LINKS:




Overview:
Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.
One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people—a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others—could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society.


Listen to a sample:



AUDIOBOOK NARRATED BY ACTOR RICHARD ARMITAGE:
The full unabridged text of THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY was read by the distinguished English film, television, theatre and voice actor Richard Armitage for the audiobook recording. Best known by many period drama fans for his outstanding performance as John Thornton in the BBC television adaptation of North and South (2004), Armitage also portrayed Thorin Oakenshield in Peter Jackson's film trilogy adaptation of The Hobbit (2012 – 2014).


My Macmillan Audio Review:

The Jane Austen Society
Natalie Jenner
Narrated by: Richard Armitage
I have a small confession: I have trouble reading period pieces and have no patience for the wordiness used by some period authors, I’ve only ever read one Jane Austen novel, Emma, and didn’t like it. But this novel has been a revelation to me too, has given me an insight into why this author has such a fanatic following and it’s convinced me I need to give Ms. Jane another try.
Sense and Sensibility here I come!
The Jane Austen Society is an amazing debut that is without a doubt heading straight to the top of the bestseller list. The author, Natalie Jenner an obvious Austen fan herself has presented her audience with a WWII era masterpiece of character depth and storytelling. Her characters, all fundamental, some likeable some sufferable some suffering from the pain and loss from war and some just from what life dealt them are all unforgettable and a realistic life study. Her plot is rock solid, her narrator is reliable and her narrative is time and place perfect giving readers an authentic feel for and an armchair view of this iconic English hamlet. There are several stories within the story that will keep the pages turning and readers fully invested. Fans of historical fiction, Austen fans, women’s fiction and lovers of fantastic literary fiction will devour this and have a hard time putting it down.
Narration:
Richard Armitage’s bass voice is the perfect choice for this novel especially embodying Dr. Gray but is also exceptional for all characters male and female. His proper Queen’s English recitation and emotional delivery where needed is extraordinary.

The last residence of the author Jane Austen where she penned three of her six books is located in Chawton a small English village of about three hundred and one large estate once owned by Jane’s brother. At the end of WWII with the Grand house in decline, the estate losing money and the last of the descendants in ill health a group of eight people, people who on the surface may seem unalike but who are all fans of the author get together to set up The Jane Austen Society and dedicate themselves to the preservation of all things Austen. This group, including Benjamin Gray the local doctor, Adeline Grover a teacher, Adam Berwick a local farmer, Andrew Forrester the Estate’s barrister, Frances Knight spinster daughter of the current owner of the grand house, Evie Stone one of her housekeepers, Mimi Harrison a Hollywood movie star and Yardley Sinclair a Sotheby’s employee have no idea the secrets that will unfold, the revelations yet to be uncovered and the constant uphill battles they’ll find themselves fighting while trying to preserve the legacy of their favorite author.

ADVANCE PRAISE:
“Just like a story written by Austen herself, Jenner’s first novel is brimming with charming moments, endearing characters, and nuanced relationships…Readers won’t need previous knowledge of Austen and her novels to enjoy this tale’s slow revealing of secrets that build to a satisfying and dramatic ending.”Booklist (starred review)
“Few things draw disparate people together so quickly as discovering they love the same writers. Few writers cement such friendships as deeply as Austen does. I believe that the readers of Jenner’s book will fall in love with the readers inside Jenner’s book, all of us thinking and dreaming of Austen the whole while. What could be better? Nothing, that’s what! A wonderful book, a wonderful read.” ―Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of The Jane Austen Book Club
“Fans of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society… A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal.” —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris
SPOTIFY PLAYLIST:
Spotify users can access a playlist for THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY at the following link: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/5Q1Vl17qyQQIvvPGeIPCkr?si=-iMhVz8uRk2v2mTdolrPdg. The playlist includes music from various film adaptions of Jane Austen’s books, as well as film scores by such incomparable artists as Hans Zimmer, Ennio Morricone, Rachel Portman, and Michael Nyman.

AUTHOR BIO:
Natalie Jenner is the debut author of THE JANE AUSTEN SOCIETY, a fictional telling of the start of the society in the 1940s in the village of Chawton, where Austen wrote or revised her major works. Born in England and raised in Canada, Natalie graduated from the University of Toronto with degrees in English Literature and Law and has worked for decades in the legal industry. She recently founded the independent bookstore Archetype Books in Oakville, Ontario, where she lives with her family and two rescue dogs.



BLOG TOUR SCHEDULE:

May 25           Jane Austen's World
May 25           Austenprose—A Jane Austen Blog
May 26           Frolic Media
May 26           A Bookish Affair
May 26           Courtney Reads Romance
May 26           Margie's Must Reads
May 26           The Reading Frenzy
May 27           Book Confessions of an Ex-Ballerina
May 27           Gwendalyn's Books
May 27           Romantically Inclined Reviews
May 28           Getting Your Read On
May 28           Living Read Girl
May 28           The Lit Bitch
May 29           History Lizzie
May 29           Silver Petticoat Reviews
May 30           Cup of Tea with that Book, Please
May 30           Historical Fiction Reader
May 31           Jane Austen in Vermont
June 01         From Pemberley to Milton
June 01         My Jane Austen Book Club
June 01         AustenBlog
June 02         Lu's Reviews
June 02         The Green Mockingbird
June 03         The Interests of a Jane Austen Girl
June 03         Relz Reviews
June 03         Impressions in Ink
June 04         The Caffeinated Bibliophile
June 04         Life of Literature
June 04         Laura's Reviews
June 05         Reading Ladies Book Club
June 05         Bookish Rantings
June 06         From the TBR Pile
June 07         Rachel Dodge
June 07         An Historian About Town
June 08         Bringing up Books
June 08         Austenesque Reviews
June 09         Captivated Reading
June 09         Savvy Verse and Witt
June 10         Lady with a Quill
June 10         Drunk Austen
June 11         Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell
June 11         Inkwell Inspirations
June 12         Nurse Bookie
June 12         A Bookish Way of Life
June 13         Calico Critic
June 14         Jane Austen's World
June 15         Stuck in a Book
June 15         Storybook Reviews
June 15         Confessions of a Book Addict
June 16         Literary Quicksand
June 16         Becky on Books
June 17         The Reading Frenzy
June 17         Anita Loves Books
June 18         Chicks, Rogues, & Scandals
June 18         The Write Review
June 19         Diary of Eccentric
June 20         Cracking the Cover
June 21         Short Books & Scribes
June 22         Reading the Past
June 22         Babblings of a Bookworm
June 23         My Vices and Weaknesses
June 23         The Book Diva Reads
June 24         Books, Teacups & Reviews
June 24         Wishful Endings
June 25         Robin Loves Reading
June 25         Bookfoolery
June 26         Lit and Life
June 26         Vesper's Place
June 27         Foxes and Fairy Tales
June 28         Probably at the Library
June 28         Scuffed Slippers Wormy Books
June 29         The Anglophile Channel
June 29         So Little Time…
June 30         BookNAround




14 comments:

  1. I bet this one will be a fun one!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just got the novel in the mail today and cannot wait to dive in!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've read it, I've listened to it, and I could totally read it again every year. It was so lovely. :) Enjoyed your review, Debbie!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This one was on my radar because it was a pcik by Anne Bogel from Modern Mrs Darcy. With your review I am definitely going to go with the audio version.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh I am not a huge fan of Austen either! I did read Sense and Sensibility as a challenge but lets see it this book enthuses me like it has you for her writng.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and commenting. Happy weekend to you!

    ReplyDelete